Athiest Observations – Fruit of the Spirit

“The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  Against such things there is no law (Galatians 5:22-23).”

It is funny to sit back and take in the religious online conversations.  When I talk about atheist observations I am talking about those who enjoy, if I can use that word, arguing about religion online and hold to this position.  Not all atheist are angry, but online there is a crusade to shut down all religion and change society into people obsessed with the here and now.

I never get over this conversation going on when I see atheists get angry.  I have been called names, swore at, I have been called a child abuser for teaching children about Jesus.  Sometimes it is vicious.  Yet, I have never seen an atheist yet come at me acting according to the nine fruit of the Spirit listed above.

Athiest,

Imagaine what this looks like to us.  At 20 years old.  I was given the ability to connect with God Almighty and connect specifically with Holy Spirit who enables me to bear fruit in my life.  Fruit is the illustration because it is a life giving food, that could nourish the world around me.  In other words I have the choice to depend on the Holy Spirit who began to change me, and these 9 things began to become more evident in my life.  I am certainly not perfect, and am on a journey but I have experienced being a new creation.

So when I have these conversations with someone acting like this, telling me not to believe, yet the person I have believed on has personally changed me, the conversation is  quite ridiculous.

It looks like this:

Christian:  I have been changed by the grace of God.  By meeting Jesus He has changed me.  I am now experiencing love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control.

Athiest:  No you have not.  You are an idiot.  You are #$^#$^#$^#$^#$^*&*.  You are evil to try to tell someone else about this.  You should move to an island and %^*%^*&%(**(*_.  You don’t deserve to live.

Christian:  But Jesus Christ changed my life.  The evidence is he changed me by taking up residence in my life.  I used to act and talk like you, but now I don’t.  Jesus changed me.

Athiest:  Don’t you know how stupid you are?  I will prove how dumb you are.

accusation 1, 2, ,3

see how stupid you are.  blah, blah, blah.

 

And the honest reader thinks, maybe there is something to God’s Spirit bearing witness in someone’s life.  Maybe I have seen someone change permenantly and it was unexplainable.

 

The Christian says to himself:  Thank you for proving my point.  I leave this conversation remembering how Holy Spirit has supernaturally and miraculously intervened in my life so I don’t act like that.  The Christian goes out assured and continues to spread the message of Jesus Christ to all who are around.

Everyone builds the Kingdom, some by accident, some by obedience to the King.  No one knew both sides better than The Apostle Paul who wrote these words to the Galatians.

 


Leave a Reply

