Open Mindedness is a Great Start but a Terrible Destination

Open Mindedness is a Great Start but a Terrible Destination

image

By Aaron Mitchell

Christians are always being pushed to be open-minded. This is the first line of defense when God and morality come up in conversation. The argument is that Christianity is narrow and keeps people from seeing truth. Since we have come to a conclusion about God and morality, this keeps us from seeing anything new or growing in or thinking in a certain way because we are closed minded.

What I would like to discuss is that anyone who has come to a conclusion about anything displays closed mindedness. So, a Christian who believes the Bible and an atheist who refuses to believe the Bible could be true are both closed minded. I don’t know why we as Christians allow people to paint us with a closed minded brush without explaining the opposite is also closed.

The truth is, God created you to come to conclusions. Jesus says, “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you (Matthew 7:7).” Jesus wants you to find truth. Even if you don’t believe in Jesus, wouldn’t you agree that a superior being wants you to have conclusions? We have to revisit our conclusions often. I was told not to walk out in front of traffic and to be careful when crossing the street as a child. Just this morning drinking coffee and listening to headphones, I almost walked out in front of an oncoming car. When I saw it coming, I remembered the seriousness of paying attention and jumped back. What if I believed it wouldn’t hurt me because no one really knows. I didn’t, because that conclusion was settled for me many years ago.

He is promising that if you truly seek, you will truly find. Because of this promise we are accountable for not knowing Him and living a life that didn’t look for Him. When you find Him, you will find the life, peace and truth that is only found in Jesus Christ.

Personally I found Jesus through almost dying in an accident and seeking Him for a period of time. Since then, as I strive to be a responsible theological thinker, I want to turn over every rock. I want to look in all the nooks and crannies so that I can know Him more. I know the truth, and I seek to live my life to know Him more everyday. The truth I know is not a set of principles, rules or ideas. The truth I know is a person. That person is Jesus the Christ of Israel, and redeemer of the world. Amen.

Thanks for reading!

Cover Front and Back Final

Check out my new book. There are 260 Chapters in The New Testament. 1 Chapter a day 5 days a week 52 weeks a year 5 x 52 = 260! Take the Challenge! Change the World!

thenewtestamentchallenge.org

It is now available at Barnesandnoble.com, amazon.com, nook and kindle.


One thought on “Open Mindedness is a Great Start but a Terrible Destination

Leave a Reply

